The Discovery 947 Ride Joburg is more than just a cycle race – it’s a platform for people to accomplish something great.

Whether you want to achieve a personal goal, like the many novices who tackle the 94km route; fundraise for a charity under Ride for a Purpose or Vitality Active Rewards MoveToGive; or help those who need a boost during the race, this is an event that allows participants and supporters alike to reach out, support each other, and make themselves and the whole of Joburg proud.

It takes commitment to ride 94.7 km through Joburg, and even more so when you’re riding the distance for a cause that is greater than yourself (many charity riders even do a double lap). Last year, over R11.8 million was raised through riders who took on extraordinary journeys. The fund raised helped enable 160 organisations to continue the good work they do, touching lives across the nation.

Through the fundraising efforts of the 2019 Discovery 947 Ride Joburg, children will be fed; learners will be better educated; sick and suffering people will have better access to treatment and care and victims of abuse will receive support and love. These are just some of the many whose lives are improved thanks to the efforts of Cycle Challenge riders. Here’s how to become one:

Enter your Charity Team

A Charity Team is made up of 10 or more entries to help raise funds for the charity. The charity makes use of the event as a platform for fundraising as well as awareness.

If you’d like to register a charity with the event:

If you have a charity that you wish to register so you can use the Discovery 947 Ride Joburg as a platform, contact Debbie Mabule at charityentries@hsp.co.za

If you'd like to ride for or donate funds to a registered charity:

Contact the team leader directly for information on how to become a part of their charity. Below are the charities who have registered to Ride for a Purpose:

Below are the charities who have registered to Ride for a Purpose:


Charity NameTeam leaderEmail AddressWebsite
Rare Activists Shevaun McCreedy events@rarediseases.co.za http://www.rarediseases.co.za
Muscle Riders Robert Scott mdfgauteng@mdsa.org.za http://www.mdfgauteng.org
Abraham Kriel Bambanani Ricci Boonzaaier rb@abrahamkriel.org http://www.abrahamkriel.org
Border Collie Rescue Gillian Pearson gillypearson1@gmail.com http://www.facebook.com/collierescuesa
Growing Champions Leroy Rabie rabie@mweb.co.za http://www.growingchampions.co.za
Jump Charity Foundation Cornemari Schoonraad info@jumpfoundation.co.za https://www.facebook.com/JUMP-Charity-Foundation-118668355485307/
Afrika Tikkun Claire Alexander events@afrikatikkun.org http://www.afrikatikkun.org
Brain Child Fund Anina Schreuder info@brainchildfund.org http://www.brainchildfund.org
Hope Risen Foundation Robert Lage cycle@hoperisen.org http://www.hoperisen.org
The Early Care Foundation Tamzin Nel tnel@anchorcapital.co.za http://www.ashatrust.com
SPCA Midrand Brenda Lucas info@midrandspca.co.za http://
Epilepsy South Africa Elsabe Winkler elsabewinkler@gmail.com http://www.epilepsy.org.za
COACH ( Coalition of Anglican Children's Homes) Sandhira Poonsamy sandhira@coach.org.za http://www.coach.org.za
Streetlight Schools David Fu fu@streetlightschools.org http://www.streetlightschools.org
Qhubeka Gaylene Campbell gaylene@qhubeka.org http://www.qhubeka.org
JAM SA Elaine Ngwenya elaine.ngwenya@jamint.com http://www.jamsa.co.za
PPA Stay Wider of the Rider Liz Heydra liz@pedalpower.org.za http://www.pedalpower.org.za
Frida Hartley Shelter Mark Meltzer mark@carteragencies.co.za http://www.fridahartley.org
Stepping Stone Hospice Judy Joubert judy.joubert@absa.africa http://www.steppingstonehospice.co.za
Heal the Burns (Baragwanath Paediatric Burns Unit) Lyndsay Barr lyndsay@healtheburns.co.za http://www.facebook.com/baraburnsunit
Heart and Stroke Foundation SA Bianca Snyders bianca.snyders@heartfoundation.co.za http://www.heartfoundation.co.za
Germiston - Bedfordview SPCA Jacques Peacock liaison1@spcagermiston.co.za http://www.facebook.com/spca.germiston-bedfordview
The Almond Tree Zina Rotherham zina@thealmondtree.co.za http://www.thealmondtree.co.za
St Davids Marist Foundation Fiona budd foundation@stdavids.co.za http://www.stdavids.co.za/foundation-home.html
SOS Marlene Riley marlene@dwrdistribution.co.za http://
Sunshine Centre Association Ruth Phiri ruth@sunshine.org.za http://
San Salvador Home Ann Pearton annpearton@gmail.com http://www.sansalvadorhome.org
Smile Foundation Chloe Torr chloe@smilefoundationsa.org http://www.smilefoundation.co.za
Wildlife Conservation Trust Ricki Kirschner fundraising @hesc.co.za http://www.wildlifeconservationtrust.co.za
Pink Drive Nelius du Preez nelius@pinkdrive.co.za http://www.pinkdrive.co.za
Cotlands Natalie Frank natalie@cotlands.org http://www.cotlands.org
Corona Lodge Stewart Dalziel dalziel55@gmail.com http://
Vet Books for Africa An-Marie van Deventer info@vetbooks.org http://www.facebook.com/VetBooksForAfrica
More Balls Than Most Nelius du Preez nelius@pinkdrive.co.za http://www.mbtm.co.za
A Kidney Beanz Trust Alyson Magor alyson@kidneybeanz.co.za http://www.kidneybeanz.co.za
The Lumohawk Foundation Joel Stransky joel.stransky@pivotalgroup.co.za http://www.lumohawk.co.za
The Recovery Foundation Roberto Ferreira roberto@therecoveryfoundation.org.za http://www.therecoveryfoundation.org.za
The Village Safe Haven Amanda De Wet amanda.dewet@rmb.co.za http://www.villagesafehaven.org.za
LIV - Lanseria Debbie McCrystal preschool@liv-lanseria.com http://www.liv-lanseria.com
HOPE Worldwide South Africa Keith Marais keith.marais@hopewwsa.org http://www.facebook.com/HOPEworldwidesa.org
Pathways Roodepoort Esme Alberts esme@asecurity.co.za http://www.pathwaysroodepoort.org.za
Barkston Place Kerri-Ann Jacobs kerri@marnox.co.za http://www.barkstonplace.co.za
SA Airforce Association Johannesburg Carol van Rensburg info@jhb.saafa.co.za http://www.saafa.co.za
You and Me vs MND Kevin Jordan kevin.jordan555@gmail.com http://www.facebook.com/YouandMeVersusMND
Thandulwazi Trust Maths & Science Academy Charne Haak chaak@stithian.com http://www.thandulwazi.com
FACT Feed a Child Today Estelle Mengel Estellem@mosaiek.com http://
Conor James Foundation Michael Funke michael@conorjames.org http://www.conorjames.org
The Sushi and Panda Foundation Megan Taylor megan@thesushiandpandafoundation.co.za http://www.facebook.com/thesushiandpandafoundation
SANPARKS Honorary Rangers Natasha Wendelstadt nwendelstadt@voltex.co.za http://www.sanparksvolunteers.org
Ranties Laerskool Randhart Ondersteuners Klub Corli Carratu admin@labourresolution.co.za http://www.facebook.com/Rantiesondersteunders
Thandanani House of Refuge Paul Mckibbin 947@thandanani.org http://www.thandanani.org
Sparrow Schools Educational Trust Lois Grobbelaar lois@sparrowportal.co.za http://www.sparrowschools.co.za
Tzaneen Care Group Heather van Heerden admin@tzaneencaregroup.co.za http://www.tzaneencaregroup.co.za
Adorabull Terrier Rescue and Rehabilitation Joma Karsten adorabullrr@gmail.com http://www.adorabullterrier.com
Botshabelo Makopano Mutloatse office@botshabelo.co.za http://www.botshabelo.co.za
Doctors Without Borders SA Kgothatso Banoe kgothatso.banoe@joburg.msf.org http://www.msf.org.za
Feenix Natasha Smit natasha@feenix.org http://www.feenix.org
I Love Boobies Kim Webb kim@iloveboobies.co.za http://www.iloveboobies.co.za
Kungwini Welfare Organisation Michael Williams projects@kwo.org.za http://www.kwo.org.za
Reach for a Dream Husna Haniff husnaa@reachforadream.org.za http://www.dreamriders.co.za
The Cows /Choc Jayde Fouche daisy@thecows.co.za http://www.choc.org.za
The Paige Project David Barson cycle@thepaigeproject.co.za http://www.thepaigeproject.co.za
Vuleka School Brandon Townsend marketing@vulekaschool.co.za http://www.vulekaschool.co.za
Dignity Dreams Hein Lubbe hein.lubbe@gmail.com http://www.dignitydreams.com
Campus Crusade for Christ Dawie Pieterse dawie.pieterse@cccsa.org.za http://www.cccsa.org.za
Bethany House Trust Beverley Blake beverley.blake@icloud.com http://www.childincrisis.org.za
Pilanesberg Wildlife Warriors Rose Simpson fundraising@ho.org.za http://www.ho.org.za
Bulldog Rescue Angels Jolanda Vorster bulldogrescueangels@gmail.com http://www.facebook.com/BulldogRescueAngels/
Jakaranda Kinderhuis Karin Berriman marketing@jacarandachildren.co.za http://www.jacarandachildren.co.za
Little Eden Society Nichollette Muthige marketing@littleeden.org.za http://www.littleeden.org.za
South African Guide - Dogs Association for the Blind Yolande van Rooyen yolandev@guidedog.org.za http://www.guidedog.org.za
Everybody Love Everybody Thalia Charvat thalia@ele.org.za http://www.ele.org.za
Trojans Neurological Trust Caitlin Tracey trojansneurologicaltrust@gmail.com http://www.tntsa.co.za
Seeds of Africa Gwendoline Chikerema gwen@seedsofafrica.co.za http://www.seedsofafrica.co.za
Cystic Fibrosis Association Central Alan Dunn alanfdunn@gmail.com http://www.sacfa.org.za
Micro Miracle Foundation Charnel Muller charnel@micromiraclefoundation.org.za http://www.micromiraclefoundation.org.za
The Olive Children's Foundation Susan Snell olivechildrensfoundation@gmail.com http://www.olivechildrensfoundation.org
Botshabelo Makopano Mutloatse office@botshabelo.co.za http://www.botshabelo.co.za
Rizpah Pam Erasmus pamerasmus77@gmail.com https://www.facebook.com/pages/category/Community/Rizpah-Bediening-1961840400761027/
Rainbows and Smiles Bonita Suckling bonni@rainbowsandsmiles.org.za http://www.rainbowsandsmiles.org.za
GIBS Alumni Wellness Club (GWAC) Joseph Maboko gibsalumniwellnessclub@gmail.com https://www.instagram.com/gibs_alumniwellnessclub/
Thabang Children's Project Admire Kamonere admin@thabang.org http://www.thabang.org
L.U.C.C.A School Ashley Heine admin@luccaspecialkids.co.za http://www.luccaspecialkids.co.za
AWQAF SA Zameer Arbee cycle@awqafsa.org.za http://www.awqafsa.org.za
Thalitha Children's Trust Chelsea Zindoga chelsea@thalitha.co.za http://www.thalitha.co.za
Ride 4 TUR Development Percy Modiselle percymod@gmail.com http://www.facebook.com/TshwaneUrban/
Down Syndrome Association Pretoria/Tshwane ELaine Passmoor elaine@downs.org.za http://www.downsyndromepretoria.co.za
Wollies Animal Project Carla De Beer carla@ledwabas.co.za http://www.wollies.org
The Character Company Claire Maree Shale 947.ch@racter.co.za http://www.thecharactercompany.co.za
Teddy Bear Foundation Margie Hoffman cyclechallenge947@ttbc.org.za http://www.ttbc.org.za
Sudan 4 Jesus Leilani Scheffer leilani.physio@gmail.com http://www.sudansupport.org
STEPS Clubfoot Care Martene Esteves marteneesteves@gmail.com http://www.steps.org.za
Staffordshire Bull Terrier Rescue SA Lauren Mallet - Veale ride4astafford@gmail.com http://www.facebook.com/StaffordshireBullTerrierRescueSouthAfrica/
Sithanda Upliftment Projects Nicholas Braby nic@sithanda.org http://www.sithanda.org
Shabbos Schicker Club David Slotow david@slotow.co.za http://
Lions Club Cycle 2 Serve Clint Guthrie admin@lionsclubpretoria.co.za http://www.lionsclubpretoria.co.za
Laerskool Randhart Ondersteuners Klub Corli Carratu admin@labourresolution.co.za http://
Husky Rescue SA Martina Kangley martina@huskyrescue.org.za http://www.huskyrescue.org.za
House of Hadassah Tonthoza Kaponda tonthokap@gmail.com http://www.houseofhadassah.org.za
Golder Trust for Orphans Aisling Dower adower@golder.com http://www.goldertrust.org
French Bulldog Rescue SA Tessa Roodt tessa@royalpetrehab.co.za http://www.facebook.com/www/frenchienetworksa.co.za/
Down Syndrome South Africa Zandile Dlamini dssa.odo@icon.co.za http://www.downsyndrome.org.za
DL Link Tammy Goodman events@dllink.co.za http://www.dllink.co.za
Casa do Sol Wald Snyman wsnyman@lantic.net http://www.casa.joburg
Caring Daisies Anria van Heerden anria@caringdaisies.co.za http://www.caringdaisies.co.za
Pizza Hut African Literacy Project Marlene von Berg marlene.vonberg@yum.com http://www.pizzahutafricanliteracyproject.com
SAID (The Society for Animals in Distress) Karin Demir fundraiser@animalsindistress.org.za http://www.animalsindistress.org.za
ITS NOT ABOUT ME Mandy Webster mandy@aptprint.co.za http://www.itsnotaboutme.co.za
Jo'burg Child Welfare Maria Grigoropoulos inkind@jhbchildwelfare.org.za http://www.jhbchildwelfare.org.za
Tshwane Haven Deveny Beard devenybeard9@gmail.com http://www.placeofsafety.co.za/tshwane-haven/
Rivers Foundation Llewellyn Sinclaire llewellyn.sinclaire@zoetis.com http://www.riversfoundation.org.za
Transplant Education for Living Legacies Stella de Kock stella.dekock@gmail.com http://www.facebook.com/tellorgza/
SHUMBASHABA Adale Brown a1brown@telkomsa.net http://www.shumbashaba.co.za
Corruption Watch Aadil Vally aadilv@corruptionwatch.org.za http://www.corruptionwatch.org.za
Barkston Place Kerri-ann Jacobs kerri@marnox.co.za http://www.barkstonplace.co.za
The South African Depression & Anxiety Group Karen Morrice karen@nuerasa.co.za http://www.sadag.org
The Click Foundation Chris Crewdson christopher@clickfoundation.co.za http://www.clickfoundation.co.za
Hodnett House Margot Hodnett admin@hodnetthouse.co.za http://www.facebook.com/Hodnetthouse/
Ride4Ewan Marietjie Griffioen marietjie@scip.co.za http://www.facebook.com/EwanGriffioen/
Mentor a Boy Child Caswell Lengoabala ditiro@mentoraboychild.org http://www.mentoraboychild.org
Starfish Greathearts Foundation Skosana Mpiliso media@starfish.org.za http://www.starfish.org.za
Mould Empower Serve (MES) Mathapelo Madiba mathapelo@mes.org.za http://www.mes.org.za
Footprints Special Needs School Sharon Rowe sharon@footprintschool.co.za http://www.footprintschool.co.za
Pedalling4Pangolin Amanda Irving amanda@paintedwolfwines.com http://www.africanpangolin.org
Headway Gauteng Sally Spada fundraising@headwaygauteng.co.za http://www.headwaygauteng.co.za
House of Hope Community Life Development Christine Botes info@houseofhopefs.co.za http://www.houseofhopefs.co.za
Wycliffe South Africa Tanya Fouche tsfouche@gmail.com http://www.wycliffe.org.za
Tirisano Foundation Mbongeni Madonsela mbongeni@tirisanofoundation.org.za http://www.tirisanofoundation.org.za
Hope Again Foundation Barend Groenewald barend.groenewald@gmail.com http://www.facebook.com/HopeAgainFoundationSA/
The Grace Factory Sarah Cressey info@thegracefactory.co.za http://www.thegracefactory.co.za
Cancer Association of South Africa Maria Scholtz mscholtz@cansa.org.za http://www.cansa.org.za
Oceans Without Borders Nicola Kotze nicola.kotze@andbeyond.com http://www.andbeyond.com/impact/oceans-without-borders/
Wild Serve Michael Schrenk michael@wildserve.org http://www.facebook.com/wildserve/
Great Dane Rescue South Africa Mathys Redelinghuys shanered72@gmail.com http://www.greatdanerescue.co.za
Husky Romi Rescue & Wolf Sanctuary Erin Bayliss ekbayliss@gmail.com http://www.huskyromi.co.za
Makhulong Rudi Koekemoer rudi_koekemoer@yahoo.com http://www.facebook.com/Makhulong-child-and-youth-care-centre-953834951327782/
Walking Tall Jeff Ellis jeff.ellis@rightclickmedia.co.za http://www.walkingtall.co.za
Charlie for Charity Nadia Vorster info@charlie4c.co.za http://www.facebook.com/charlie-for-Charity-291831021371948/
Pink Men Arthur Sanderson sanearthmoving@gmail.com http://www.facebook.com/TeamSanderson-222466381873819/
Highveld Horse Care Unit Anna Franziska Laidler flaidler@gmail.com http://www.horsecare.org.za
The South African Bone Marrow Registry Kamiel Singh kamiel.singh@sabmr.co.za http://www.sabmr.co.za